AWCI logo

November 3, 2019: Asian Water Cycle Initiative (AWCI) Session for the 12th AOGEO Symposium in Canberra, Australia

The 12th Asia-Oceania Group on Earth Observations (AOGEO) Symposium was convened on November 2-4, 2019, at Australian National University in Canberra, Australia, under the theme of “Scaling up successful Earth Observation activities for all of Asia-Oceania - Share the results and design the future steps for global agendas -.” The sectional meeting of the Asian Water Cycle Initiative (AWCI), co-chaired by Dr. Angelica Gutierrez, the chair of GEO Global Water Sustainability (GEOGLOWS), and Prof. Koike Toshio, the executive director of ICHARM, was attended by 40 participants from 10 countries, including Dr. Gilberto Camara, the secretariat director of GEO. In the AWCI session, representatives from countries implementing the Platforms on Water Resilience and Disasters promoted by the International Flood Initiative (IFI), such as the Philippines, Sri Lanka, Myanmar and Indonesia, reported the progress of the Platform projects in their countries. Then, fruitful discussions followed on roadmaps toward the achievement of the Sendai Framework, the Paris Agreement, and SDGs and the promotion of a regional cooperative framework among the participating countries.

On November 4, the symposium was concluded by adopting the Canberra Statement, which summarizes the results of all the sectional sessions held during the symposium.


1. Opening GEOSS/AWCI Breakout Session
 - APN
 - Prof. Toshio Koike, ICHARM

2. Keynote Lecture
 - Ms. Angelica Gutierrez, NOAA, USA
 - Dr. Dushmanta Dutta, New South Wales Government, Australia

3. Water (TG1)-Agriculture (TG5)-Droughts (TG6) Joint Session
 - Prof. Li Jia, Institute of Remote Sensing and Digital Earth (RADI), Chinese Academy of Sciences
 - Dr. Shinichi Sobue, ALOS-2 Project Manager, Space Technology Directorate I, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA)
 - Prof. Toshio Koike, ICHARM

4. Report on the Platforms on Water Resilience and Disasters
 - Myanmar, Prof. Khin Than Yu, YTU
   Dr. Zaw Lwin Tun, IWUMD,
   Mr. Aung Myo Khaing, DWIR
   Ms. Phyu Lai Lai Htun, DDM
   Ms. Thidar Myint, DMH
 - Philippines, Mr. Michael T. Alpasan, DPWH,
   Mr. Socrates F. Paat Jr., DOST-PAGASA
   Mr. Jonathan P. Victolero, DOST XI
   Dr. Patricia Ann J. Sanchez, University of the Philippines Los Baños
 - Sri Lanka 1, Irrigation Department, Sri Lanka
 - Sri Lanka 2, Dr. D.M.S. Dissanayake, Director General, Mahaweli Authority of Sri Lanka
 - Sri Lanka 3, Eng.(Dr.) Asiri Karunawardena, Director General, National Building Research Organization - Ministry of Disaster Management, Sri Lanka
 - Sri Lanka 4, Mr. Athula Karunanayake, Director General, Department of Meteorology
 - Indonesia, Dr. Saparis Soedarjanto, Ministry of Environment and Forestry (KLHK)
   Dr. Ardhasena Sopaheluwakan, Agency for Meteorology Climatology and Geophysics (BMKG)
   Dr. Berton Panjaitan, National Disaster Management Authority (BNPB)

5. Introductions to the International Activities on Water (WebEX)
 - Dr. Shin-ichi Sobue, ALOS-2 Project Manager, Space Technology Directorate I, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA)
 - Prof. Shahbaz Khan, Director and Representative, UNESCO Regional Science Bureau for Asia and The Pacific

6. Summary on Practical Contributions to the Global Agendas

*Link to the 12th AOGEO symposium

group photo

ICHARM logo     IFI International Flood Initiative